Tag Archives: Canadian Nuclear Association


Talking Nuclear: Dialogue in Action – Register Now for CNA2013

Registration is now open!

Register before September 14, 2012 and be entered into a draw to win a FREE two-night stay in a Westin suite during the conference.

Explore the CNA2013 site to discover what we have planned for you. Learn what this year’s Talking Nuclear: Dialogue in Action theme is about, view the preliminary Program, check out many of our confirmed speakers, and see who has already jumped on board as Sponsors of this world-class nuclear industry event!

2013 Program Topics and Speakers Include:

  • Industry Panel on Nuclear Refurbishment Projects – CEOs from three nuclear facilities will share lessons learned from past projects and discuss how they will be applied to future initiatives.
  • Keynote Speaker: Dr Joe MacInnis,Titanic & Ocean Explorer – Gain insights on the values of courage, communication, and teamwork that enhance performance under the ocean and in the corporate world.
  • Community Leader Panel – Mayors from nuclear communities and a member of the Nuclear Waste Management Organization will discuss about how effective community outreach and education is essential in fostering an informed and engaged community on nuclear projects.

There will be so much more. Check the CNA2013 site for updates as the program evolves.

Don’t miss your chance to win a two-night stay at the Westin for the Conference. Register before September 14th!

See you there!
Canadian Nuclear Association  
2013 Conference and Trade Show
February 27 – March 1, 2013
Westin Hotel, Ottawa, ON

Nuclear Energy Nuclear Pride

Announcing our New Board of Directors!

We held our 52nd AGM on Thursday May 17 at AECON headquarters in Cambridge, Ontario. It was a momentous occasion as we elected 12 Directors to our Board. That is more elected members, more representation across the industry, than ever before! We are stronger when we work together.

Welcome to the brand new additions to our Board of Directors: Edward Veckie, Carol Wilson Hodges, Jeremy Rasmussen, Tim Reedman, Joseph Zwetolitz, Howard Shearer, Macit Cobanoglu, and Nick Aroutzidis. We’re excited to work with all of you, on the path forward to a stronger and vibrant nuclear industry in Canada!

Meet our new Board of Directors

Executive Committee

  • Past Chair: ONTARIO POWER GENERATION, Wayne Robbins, Chief Nuclear Officer
  • Chair: CAMECO CORPORATION, Grant Isaac, Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer
  • Vice Chair: BRUCE POWER, Duncan Hawthorne, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Finance Chair: TETRA TECH, Hany Michael, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Division
  • Governance Committee Chair AECL, Robert Walker, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Public Affairs Committee Chair AREVA CANADA INC., Jean-François Béland, Executive Vice-President
  • Regulatory Advisory Committee Chair: KINECTRICS INC., Katherine Moshonas Cole, Executive Consultant


  • AECON, Macit Cobanoglu, Vice President, Nuclear New Board member
  • AMEC, James Rippon, President
  • BABCOCK & WILCOX CANADA, Mike Lees, President, Nuclear Power Generation Group
  • CANADIAN POWER UTILITY SERVICES LTD., Jordan Quan Ban Chou, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • CANDU ENERGY INC., Kevin Wallace, President & General Manager
  • E.S. FOX, Spencer Fox, President
  • ÉNERGIE NB POWER, Blair Kennedy, Vice President, Nuclear
  • ENERGYSOLUTIONS CANADA, Carol Wilson Hodges, President New Board Member!
  • GE-HITACHI NUCLEAR ENERGY CANADA INC., Peter W. Mason, President  & Chief Executive Officer
  • HATCH LTD., Alan O’Brien, Global Managing Director
  • HITACHI POWER SYSTEMS CANADA LTD, Howard Shearer, President and Chief Executive Officer New Board Member!
  • HYDRO-QUÉBEC, Mario Désilets, Director, Nuclear Generation
  • IAN MARTIN LIMITED, Bruce Mullock, General Manager
  • INDUSTRIAL AUDIT CORPORATION, Jeremy Rasmussen, President New Board Member!
  • L-3 MAPPS, Michael Chatlani, Vice President, Marketing & Sales Power Systems and Simulation
  • MACDONALD, DETTWILER AND ASSOCIATES INC., Tim Reedman, Director Terrestrial Applications, Space Missions New Board Member!
  • NA ENGINEERING ASSOCIATES INC., Nick Aroutzidis, Principal New Board Member!
  • NEWMAN HATTERSLEY LTD., Michael Krause, Operations Director
  • POWER WORKERS’ UNION, Don MacKinnon, President
  • SASKPOWER, Robert Watson, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • SOCIETY OF ENERGY PROFESSIONALS, Rod Sheppard, President (pro-term)
  • UNIFIED ENGINEERING, Edward Veckie, Vice President New Board Member!
  • WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRIC CANADA, INC., Joseph Zwetolitz, Vice President New Board Member!


The CNA Board of Directors meets to elect new members


Chairman’s farewell. Thank you, Wayne, for your years of service!

John Beck, Aecon Chair, addresses the crowd at the Refurbishment Summit that followed our AGM.

Panel of speakers at the Aecon Refurbishment Summit

Minister Bentley speaking to the audience

Minister Bentley and VIPs at the Aecon Refurbishment Summit

Minister Bentley and Aecon Staff

Preparing for a tour of the Aecon shop floor. Nice safety gear!


CNA2012 Messages Nuclear Outreach

Registration Now Open for the 2012 CNA Conference and Trade Show

Registration for the 2012 Canadian Nuclear Association Conference and Trade Show is NOW OPEN!

Click here to register!

The theme of this year’s conference is Leadership Through Innovation, which will focus on the latest developments in nuclear technology as well as unique communications strategies that help share the excitement with the rest of the world!

All remaining sponsorships and booths are now available to all potential sponsors and exhibitors, and you may contact Alex Wolf at wolfa@cna.ca for more information on how to become a sponsor at our 2012 Conference! Sponsors and exhibitors receive a certain number of complimentary registrations. Coupon codes for these registrations will be emailed to companies upon receipt of payment.

Follow the links below for the most up-to-date information!

Click here to register!

2012 Conference – Preliminary Agenda (PDF)

2012 Conference – Floor Plan (PDF)

2012 Conference – Sponsorship and Exhibitor Opportunities (PDF)