Tag Archives: Chris Bentley

Nuclear Energy Nuclear Pride

Announcing our New Board of Directors!

We held our 52nd AGM on Thursday May 17 at AECON headquarters in Cambridge, Ontario. It was a momentous occasion as we elected 12 Directors to our Board. That is more elected members, more representation across the industry, than ever before! We are stronger when we work together.

Welcome to the brand new additions to our Board of Directors: Edward Veckie, Carol Wilson Hodges, Jeremy Rasmussen, Tim Reedman, Joseph Zwetolitz, Howard Shearer, Macit Cobanoglu, and Nick Aroutzidis. We’re excited to work with all of you, on the path forward to a stronger and vibrant nuclear industry in Canada!

Meet our new Board of Directors

Executive Committee

  • Past Chair: ONTARIO POWER GENERATION, Wayne Robbins, Chief Nuclear Officer
  • Chair: CAMECO CORPORATION, Grant Isaac, Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer
  • Vice Chair: BRUCE POWER, Duncan Hawthorne, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Finance Chair: TETRA TECH, Hany Michael, Senior Vice President, Nuclear Division
  • Governance Committee Chair AECL, Robert Walker, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Public Affairs Committee Chair AREVA CANADA INC., Jean-François Béland, Executive Vice-President
  • Regulatory Advisory Committee Chair: KINECTRICS INC., Katherine Moshonas Cole, Executive Consultant


  • AECON, Macit Cobanoglu, Vice President, Nuclear New Board member
  • AMEC, James Rippon, President
  • BABCOCK & WILCOX CANADA, Mike Lees, President, Nuclear Power Generation Group
  • CANADIAN POWER UTILITY SERVICES LTD., Jordan Quan Ban Chou, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • CANDU ENERGY INC., Kevin Wallace, President & General Manager
  • E.S. FOX, Spencer Fox, President
  • ÉNERGIE NB POWER, Blair Kennedy, Vice President, Nuclear
  • ENERGYSOLUTIONS CANADA, Carol Wilson Hodges, President New Board Member!
  • GE-HITACHI NUCLEAR ENERGY CANADA INC., Peter W. Mason, President  & Chief Executive Officer
  • HATCH LTD., Alan O’Brien, Global Managing Director
  • HITACHI POWER SYSTEMS CANADA LTD, Howard Shearer, President and Chief Executive Officer New Board Member!
  • HYDRO-QUÉBEC, Mario Désilets, Director, Nuclear Generation
  • IAN MARTIN LIMITED, Bruce Mullock, General Manager
  • INDUSTRIAL AUDIT CORPORATION, Jeremy Rasmussen, President New Board Member!
  • L-3 MAPPS, Michael Chatlani, Vice President, Marketing & Sales Power Systems and Simulation
  • MACDONALD, DETTWILER AND ASSOCIATES INC., Tim Reedman, Director Terrestrial Applications, Space Missions New Board Member!
  • NA ENGINEERING ASSOCIATES INC., Nick Aroutzidis, Principal New Board Member!
  • NEWMAN HATTERSLEY LTD., Michael Krause, Operations Director
  • POWER WORKERS’ UNION, Don MacKinnon, President
  • SASKPOWER, Robert Watson, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • SOCIETY OF ENERGY PROFESSIONALS, Rod Sheppard, President (pro-term)
  • UNIFIED ENGINEERING, Edward Veckie, Vice President New Board Member!
  • WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRIC CANADA, INC., Joseph Zwetolitz, Vice President New Board Member!


The CNA Board of Directors meets to elect new members


Chairman’s farewell. Thank you, Wayne, for your years of service!
John Beck, Aecon Chair, addresses the crowd at the Refurbishment Summit that followed our AGM.
Panel of speakers at the Aecon Refurbishment Summit
Minister Bentley speaking to the audience
Minister Bentley and VIPs at the Aecon Refurbishment Summit
Minister Bentley and Aecon Staff
Preparing for a tour of the Aecon shop floor. Nice safety gear!


Nuclear Energy Nuclear News Nuclear Outreach Nuclear Pride

2012 CNA AGM and Nuclear Refurbishment Summit

The Canadian Nuclear Association is having its 52nd annual general meeting to elect 13 new Directors of the Board. We’re going to have more elected members, more representation across the industry, than ever before! We are stronger when we work together.

After the AGM, up to 200 guests are expected to attend the Nuclear Refurbishment Summit, an event sponsored by the Canadian Nuclear Association, the Organization of CANDU Industries and Aecon Nuclear.

Ontario’s Minister of Energy Chris Bentley will be a keynote speaker at the event taking place in Cambridge on May 17, 2012.

Keynote speakers at the event include:

  • Albert Sweetnam, Executive Vice President, Nuclear Projects at Ontario Power Generation (OPG), on OPG’s plans to implement lessons learned from Fukushima.
  • Kevin Wallace, President and General Manager of Candu Energy Inc., on lessons learned from the Wolsong Refurbishment.

Notable attendees include: Cambridge Mayor Doug Craig, Cambridge MPP Rob Leone, OPG Chief Nuclear Officer Wayne Robbins and John Beck, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer of Aecon Group Inc.

The event is open to guests, including CNA and OCI members. For more details and to register, please contact Aecon at refurbsummit@aecon.com.

We’re encouraging all CNA members to attend! Hope to see you there!

Aecon has more than forty years of experience in the nuclear industry and maintains a CSA N285 nuclear quality certification in Canada. On January 1 of this year, Aecon’s Cambridge fabrication facility was awarded nuclear accreditation, known as the “N-Stamp”, from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

On March 1, 2012, Aecon Group Inc. announced that a joint venture they were part of had been awarded a major contract with OPG to carry out the Darlington Retube and Feeder Replacement Project. This project includes the refurbishment of all four reactors at the Darlington Generating Station.

Aecon Group Inc. is one of Canada’s largest and most diverse construction and infrastructure development companies.  Aecon and its subsidiaries provide services to private and public sector clients throughout Canada and on a selected basis internationally.  Aecon is pleased to be recognized as one of the Best Employers in Canada.